Eligibility and Selection Process


  • Nominees for the 2008 Africa Prize must be members of civil society, from grassroots organizations, community groups, non-governmental organizations, labor unions, charitable organizations, faith-based organizations, professional associations and foundations.
  • Current serving government employees, Hunger Project staff or immediate families of Hunger Project staff are not eligible.
  • Individuals or organizations are eligible.
  • Nominees must be living African nationals.
  • Past Africa Prize laureates are not eligible.


Nominations accepted in English, French and Portuguese.


Nominations closed on August 1, 2008.

Africa Prize Award Ceremony

The Africa Prize of US$100,000 will be awarded during The Hunger Project's annual Fall Event on Saturday, October 18, 2008.

The Africa Prize Jury and Selection Process

The Africa Prize jury is composed of highly prestigious individuals from both inside and outside Africa who are recognized for their commitment to Africa. Nominations will be vetted by Hunger Project staff, and concise, uniform dossiers will be created for leading candidates and shared with the jury along with a comprehensive list of nominees. The jury will submit preferential ballots to the jury chair, who determines the final winner.

Evaluation Criteria

The Africa Prize laureate will have demonstrated effective leadership for the empowerment of women, with a particular focus on relevance to achieving the sustainable end of hunger in Africa.