Finalists for the 2008 Africa Prize


We received nominations from 17 countries throughout Africa for the 2008 Africa Prize for Leadership for the Sustainable End of Hunger. This year's distinguished jury is chaired by Salim A. Salim, former Secretary General of the Organization of African Unity and former Prime Minister of Tanzania. The jury has selected the following five women as the finalists for the 2008 Africa Prize. The winner will be announced at our Africa Prize Award Ceremony on October 18, 2008 at the New York Hilton. Purchase tickets!

  • Bisi Adeleye-Fayemi (Ghana), Executive Director and Co-founder of the African Women's Development Fund, a grant-making foundation that supports local, national and regional organizations in Africa working to promote women's rights in Africa.
  • Christine Agnélé Mensah-Atoemne (Togo), Founder of Quaviff: Quality of Life of Women and Girls, a theater group that works to change attitudes towards girls and women.
  • Faiza Jama Mohamed (Somalia), Africa Regional Director of Equality Now, a human rights organization working for the civil, political, economic and social rights of girls and women.
  • Mmatshilo Motsei (South Africa), Founder and Director of the Agisanang Domestic Abuse Prevention and Training (ADAPT), an organization that provides counseling and support services to abused women, men, young people and the elderly.
  • Janet Nkubana (Rwanda), Founder and President of Gahaya Links, a Rwandan handicrafts organization that empowers local rural women to achieve economic stability.