Sarojini Naidu Prize 2008 Winners Announced

Sarojini Naidu Prize

Results of the Jury Meeting

The Sarojini Naidu Prize 2008 supports writings on two themes: Women in Panchayati Raj: Bringing Education to Every Child and Women in Panchayati Raj: Ensuring Primary Health for All Women. Read more about the Sarojini Naidu Prize initiative.

The Jury for the Sarojini Naidu Prize 2008 met on September 15, 2008 at the Kadamba Hall, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road New Delhi. Jury Chair Dr. George Mathew, and Jury members Ms. Niraja Gopal Jayal, Ms. Sushma Singh and Mr. Alok Mehta were present. Jury member Mr. Sashi Kumar could not attend the meeting as he was out of the country.

The Jury selected the prize winners on the following criteria (apart from the theme and criteria mentioned for the prize):

  1. Depth of the article
  2. Promoting Panchayati Raj
  3. Promoting women's leadership
  4. Knowledge on the subject
  5. Journalistic writing skills

In all three Prizes it was a close tie between two journalists. After much discussion the jury selected the following Prize Winners and has also recommended a jury citation:

In the English Category the Prize goes to Mr. Radheshyam Jadhav for his article "Women on Top" published by The Times of India, Pune edition, April 8, 2008.

In the Hindi Category the Prize goes to Mr. Vibhash Kumar Jha for his article "In Chattisgarh, Women Panchayat Representatives Set New Records" published by Varun Chattisgarh, Raipur, July 11, 2008.

And in the Other Indian Language Category the Prize goes to Pon. Dhanasekaran for his article in Tamil "Bringing Education to Child Labourers-An Achievement Amidst Obstacles" published by Dinamalar, July 1, 2008.

Jury Citation goes to Akhand for his article in Oriya "Another Rebati of this Century" published by Ama Kartabya Lokachetana (weekly), March 24, 2008.

Congratulations the prize winners and the prize-winning states.

Informational Brochure on Sarojini Naidu Prize 2008 (English) - PDF, 233.13 KB

Informational Brochure on Sarojini Naidu Prize 2008 (Hindi) - PDF, 242.22 KB